Skip to content

UPDATE: CETA resolution goes to Toronto executive committee

[[{“type”:”media”,”view_mode”:”media_large”,”fid”:”2001″,”attributes”:{“class”:”media-image size-medium wp-image-12401″,”typeof”:”foaf:Image”,”style”:””,”width”:”160″,”height”:”101″,”title”:”gdebaeremaeker-kwong-tam”,”alt”:”De Baermaker and Wong-Tam”}}]]

De Baermaker and Wong-Tam

Council of Canadians trade campaigner Stuart Trew was at Toronto City Hall yesterday. He writes, “A motion ‘to protect City of Toronto interests and existing powers in any trade agreement signed between the Government of Canada and the European Union’ came before Toronto city council (on November 30) but was deferred to an executive committee meeting in January (likely either January 12 or January 24).”

The 13-member executive committee is comprised of councillors Rob Ford (chair), Doug Holyday (vice-chair), Paul Ainslie, Michelle Berardinetti, Mike Del Grande, Norman Kelly, Giorgio Mammoliti, Peter Milczyn, Denzil Minnan-Wong, Cesar Palacio, Jaye Robinson, David Shiner, and Michael Thompson.

Trew notes, “The Toronto motion (was brought forward by) Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker, seconded by Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam.” On November 28, Council of Canadians chairperson Maude Barlow sent a message to Mayor Rob Ford and all city councillors encouraging them to support the resolution on CETA, http://canadians.org/media/trade/2011/28-Nov-11.html.

Even if the executive committee recommends against the motion in January, it is our understanding that it would still go to a full 45-member city council meeting for a vote likely on February 6-7.

To read the motion, please go to Stuart’s blog at http://canadians.org/blog/?p=12368.