March 24, 2009

This past World Water Day weekend, Environment Minister Jim Prentice stated on CBC News that Canada does not support water as a human right because, “You get into difficult questions such as do countries that have access to water have a legal obligation to export it to countries that don't. Clearly, it's a complex issue.”

The Council of Canadians has been very clear that the recognition that water is a human right does not compel bulk water exports from Canada, something we have opposed for many years.

March 24, 2009

The Standing Committee on International Trade met this morning to review Chapter 11, the investor-state clause of the North American Free Trade Agreement. Board member Steven Shrybman was there on Parliament Hill to present on behalf of the Council of Canadians.

March 24, 2009

Le Monde reports on Maude Barlow's critique of the World Water Forum. You will see in the opening line that they say "Maude Barlow is the José Bové of global water." Le Monde is the French daily newspaper of record, with a circulation of some 400,000 readers.

De nombreuses ONG critiquent l'organisation et la légitimité des débats

LE MONDE | 23.03.09

March 24, 2009

To see a terrific video from Turkey of Council of Canadians chairperson Maude Barlow, Food and Water Watch executive director Wenonah Hauter, and Focus on the Global South research associate Mary Ann Manahan, please go to

March 22, 2009

Over twenty countries have officially challenged the Ministerial declaration released today at the World Water Forum, which defines water as a human need rather than a human right, through a counter-declaration.

Latin American states have played a key role in gathering signatures onto a declaration that recognizes access to water and sanitation as a human right and commits to all necessary action for the progressive implementation of this right.

The growing list currently includes (in alphabetical order): Bangladesh; Benin;  Bolivia; Chad; Chile; Cuba; Ecuador; Ethiopia; Guatemala; Honduras; Morocco; Namibia; Niger; Panama; Paraguay; South Africa; Spain; Sri Lanka; Uruguay; and Venezuela.

Switzerland has declared its support although a formal signature will take months to finalize.